Author Topic: Mac OS X crash  (Read 3483 times)

Offline Ulf

I've got my desktop set up to rotate the background picture every fifteen minutes.  (I'm an amateur photographer, I've got lots of them)  Every time the background changes, the program crashes.

I'm running under OS X 10.3.9, and I'm using version 3.6.7.

I can send the crash log if it helps.

I've got a couple of minor quirks as well:
1.  It creates an empty server.txt at the top level of my hard drive every time I start.  I'd like to avoid that.
2.  There's no alert box if OpenAL is missing, it just dies silently.  It took me some time to figure out why it just quit.

Offline taylor

• Super SCP/Linux Guru
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
I can send the crash log if it helps.
Yep, it would.

1.  It creates an empty server.txt at the top level of my hard drive every time I start.  I'd like to avoid that.
We've never been able to figure out why it does that actually, it's nothing intentional in the source code.  It happens just before main() is called so I thought it was a library or something.  It happens on all 3 platforms though so that really hurts that theory.  If you have any ideas we're open to them.  :)

2.  There's no alert box if OpenAL is missing, it just dies silently.  It took me some time to figure out why it just quit.
There isn't a chance to have an alert box with the current code.  This is more of a packaging problem than anything else.  I need to include the OpenAL framework in the APP itself for versions less than 10.4, but that didn't work out too well initially and I haven't had any time to go back and fix the packages.

There is new sound code on the way though and that will handle things properly.  If OpenAL isn't found you'll get a warning box but the game will still be playable, just without sound.

Offline Ulf

Where do I put the crash log?  Here?

Offline taylor

• Super SCP/Linux Guru