Author Topic: Personal Game Servers  (Read 1941 times)

Offline Tyrian

• Dangerous When Thinking
Personal Game Servers
I have a friend of mine who has asked me to look at a game server for him.  He wants it to run Rainbow 6 3:  Raven Shield, with 16 player slots.  He found a company online that rents servers on a monthly fee, at http://www.gameservernetwork.com/.  For a 16 slot R6: RS server, it's $48/month.  Does anyone know anything about/have experience with that particular company?

As a second option, he's also looked at buying a server.  I can build desktops, but I've never done a server before.  I've poked around NewEgg a little bit, and this is what I put together.  It's very preliminary and not complete, but it's a place to start.

Barebones Server
Opteron 100 Socket 939
Sapphire X1950

I'll also need to upgrade the PSU if he decides to get the X1950.  It needs a 500W PSU and the server only comes with a 450W one.  As to RAM, it needs to be unbuffered.  The mainboard in the server apparently doesn't support registered RAM.  For the HDD, I'm not sure what to get.  I know it needs to be a SATA. 

Thanks for any help!
Want to be famous?  Click here and become a playing card!!!

Bush (Verb) -- To do stupid things with confidence.

This year, both Groundhog Day and the State of the Union Address occurred during the same week.  This is an ironic juxtaposition of events--one involves a meaningless ritual in which we look to a creature of little intelligence for prognostication, while the other involves a groundhog.

Bumper stickers at my college:
"Republicans for Voldemort!"
"Frodo failed.  Bush got the Ring."

Resistance is futile!  (If < 1 ohm...)

"Any nation which sacrifices a little liberty for a little security deserves neither and loses both." -- Benjamin Franklin

Sig rising...

Offline CP5670

• Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
Re: Personal Game Servers