Author Topic: Thanks & 2 questions from a newcomer =)  (Read 2529 times)

Thanks & 2 questions from a newcomer =)
Hi there  ;)

I am completely new to this game. When it first came out I did not have the PC specs, and now that I have them I did not want the old graphics disappoint me. But I found this project by chance about one week ago and I am impressed. The game looks and runs great on my laptop. Many thanks to all the people involved in this project.

Now the questions. The first one is related to the jump nodes. I believe I have installed the FSO 3.6.9 correctly (I followed all the instructions in the forum and all the ships and effects look perfect) but the jump node is represented by some kind of green mesh structure (without textures).

I am completely new to the game, so it could be that this is the way the Jump Nodes are supposed to look like  :rolleyes: . I am asking this just in case I did something wrong when installing the mod. Did I?

My second question is related to the .avi cutscenes. I have read many post related to this issue but I still cannot play them in the game. Can anyone tell me where should I put these .avi files so that FSO finds them and plays them? I have tried the main FS2 directory, the FS2/data directory, the FS2/data/movies, the FS2/mediavs, the FS2/media, the FS2/media/data... Perhaps I am missing something...

Many thanks in advance  :)

[attachment deleted by ninja]

Offline karajorma

• King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
Re: Thanks & 2 questions from a newcomer =)
Funnily enough that's the second post about jump nodes I've seen in as many weeks. :)

Yes they are meant to look like that. Jump nodes are a computer projection. If the cutscenes worked for you then you'd soon notice that they aren't visible in them.