Author Topic: scripting.html  (Read 8499 times)

Maybe we should really take a scripting.html from a recent build and comment all the functions, including examples, like you just did, plus common errors or things that look like they were possible with a function but aren't.

Because at the moment a scripting newbie doesn't have it easy. And I am a software developer, I can't even imagine how someone who has no programming/scripting experience yet could do scripts in FS2 based on what documentation we have.

Guess what my programming experience was before starting with LUA maybe one and a half year ago :rolleyes: Don't know how many LUA functions I had to test with the good old trial and error method to see how their input syntax has to be and what they actually return or (should) do. When a forum search didn't help I had to ask like in the case of evaluateSEXP(). No one without access to and knowledge about FSO code could have figured out how it works.

So if you say
you can edit the function descriptions in lua.cpp so that the game generates more useful instructions automatically.
I start thinking something like: Huh what's this?? Where do I get this .cpp thing and how the heck do I even edit it, not break it and commit changes?

So if I could I would edit the function descriptions with a better description and even example uses for the functions that lack documentation. But as you said - how can I make sure I understand how it really works without checking the actual code and some decent C knowledge?

Complete lack of documentation gets me to another question: What the hell are hook variables, which do exist and what's the difference to normal objects/variables?
Here goes scripting and copy paste coding
Freespace RTS Mod
Checkpoint/Shipsaveload script

Offline Nuke

• Ka-Boom!
  • Mutants Worship Me