Author Topic: New Thrustmaster mid level HOTAS  (Read 4998 times)

Offline jr2

• The Mail Man
  • It's prounounced jayartoo 0x6A7232
    • Steam
Re: New Thrustmaster mid level HOTAS
Also got to fly their (recruiting station) VR 'simulator'.  I put that in quotes because the VR was literally the worst I've ever experienced, including that time at Epcot way back in '96, and the flight mechanics were not even close.  It was even arcady-er than Freespace.  When it started up, I kinda shouted out, "wait, this doesn't roll?" when the tutorial was telling me to move the stick right to turn right, and it yawed.  The staff person just kinda looked at me funny.  Up your game, Air Force recruiting.

As an Air Force veteran, I am appalled. Wow. :lol: Literally none of that looks good at all. Surprised the Air Force actually has simulators for recruiting, though.

http://www.midway.org/flight-simulators

The Air Combat 360 is actually pretty good as far as mechanics.  However, the graphics are dated.  But at least you actually can literally roll yourself with your virtual aircraft. 

Offline Dragon

• Citation needed
  • The sky is the limit.
Re: New Thrustmaster mid level HOTAS
Not quite, otherwise they would make the Warthog look cheap, but they have a reputation for lasting decades, for a while around the year 2000 they also refurbished the old serial and gameport devices if you sent it to them so many have 20 years old sticks still going strong.
From experience I can say they use a very sturdy textured plastic that feels very different from all the sticks I had before, from what I've read around the internet it's supposed to be a polymer injected with fiberglass, and the buttons and hat switches are made from the same material.