Author Topic: FYI  (Read 4477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
I just fixed a major bug in the animated texture code, which caused the animation speed to vary unpredictably and usually run way too fast.  Animations will now run at their proper speed, but the old, sped-up animations will need to be slowed down to match their original behavior.

The good news is that the bugfix means WYSIWYG, that is, the speed of the ani in ANIVIEW will be the speed of the ani in the game.  No more trial and error. :)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2006, 08:59:55 am by Goober5000 »

 
 :yes:

Clap clap clap for the Freespace god!
"You need to believe in things that aren't true. How else can they become?" -DEATH, Discworld

"You can fight like a krogan, run like a leopard, but you'll never be better than Commander Shepard!"

 

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
I'm always nervous when people say that, because I don't want this to happen to me. :nervous:

 

Offline Zacam

  • Magnificent Bastard
  • Administrator
  • 211
  • I go Sledge-O-Matic on Spammers
    • Steam
    • Twitter
    • ModDB Feature
*chuckles* Yeah, that would kinda suck, wouldn't it? :)

Is it a major enough fix that we'll see it in RC5/3.6.9 Final, or cvs only for now?

And how many do you think are going to need fixing? I've been looking for something to do that fell within my already established skills (vs. stuff that I'm currently learning or re-learning)
Report MediaVP issues, now on the MediaVP Mantis! Read all about it Here!
Talk with the community on Discord
"If you can keep a level head in all this confusion, you just don't understand the situation"

¤[D+¬>

[08/01 16:53:11] <sigtau> EveningTea: I have decided that I am a 32-bit registerkin.  Pronouns are eax, ebx, ecx, edx.
[08/01 16:53:31] <EveningTea> dhauidahh
[08/01 16:53:32] <EveningTea> sak
[08/01 16:53:40] * EveningTea froths at the mouth
[08/01 16:53:40] <sigtau> i broke him, boys

 

Offline Flipside

  • əp!sd!l£
  • 212
Poor Herod, survived an Angel attack, and a nasty fall, only to get mugged by passing worms.... ;)

Good stuff Goob :)

 

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
It'll be in 3.6.9.  And every animation that was fine-tuned using the game, as opposed to using ANIVIEW, will need to be redone.  Animated shockwaves, for example, now run too fast.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2006, 09:00:46 am by Goober5000 »

 

Offline taylor

  • Super SCP/Linux Guru
  • Moderator
  • 212
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Animated shockwaves, for example, now run too fast.
That's only 3D shockwaves though, and those have to be given frame numbers to use from the shockwave code (since its play speed is based on the shockwave time).  I've got that fixed in my tree and will commit it with the rest of the stuff.

 

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
Wait, that's another code bug?  I thought it was a problem with the data included in the mediaVP? :confused:

 

Offline Col. Fishguts

  • voodoo doll
  • 211
Is this including EFFs ? In other words, will the $FPS setting in the EFF file now work properly ?
"I don't think that people accept the fact that life doesn't make sense. I think it makes people terribly uncomfortable. It seems like religion and myth were invented against that, trying to make sense out of it." - D. Lynch

Visit The Babylon Project, now also with HTL flavour  ¦ GTB Rhea

 

Offline Colonol Dekker

  • HLP is my mistress
  • 213
  • Aken Tigh Dekker- you've probably heard me
    • My old squad sub-domain
Animated shockwaves, for example, now run too fast.
That's only 3D shockwaves though, and those have to be given frame numbers to use from the shockwave code (since its play speed is based on the shockwave time).  I've got that fixed in my tree and will commit it with the rest of the stuff.


Surely the light would reach before the shockwave,, relativity and all that.. So in fact you just kept the effect true to RL physics  ;7 :lol:
Campaigns I've added my distinctiveness to-
- Blue Planet: Battle Captains
-Battle of Neptune
-Between the Ashes 2
-Blue planet: Age of Aquarius
-FOTG?
-Inferno R1
-Ribos: The aftermath / -Retreat from Deneb
-Sol: A History
-TBP EACW teaser
-Earth Brakiri war
-TBP Fortune Hunters (I think?)
-TBP Relic
-Trancsend (Possibly?)
-Uncharted Territory
-Vassagos Dirge
-War Machine
(Others lost to the mists of time and no discernible audit trail)

Your friendly Orestes tactical controller.

Secret bomb God.
That one time I got permabanned and got to read who was being bitxhy about me :p....
GO GO DEKKER RANGERSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
President of the Scooby Doo Model Appreciation Society
The only good Zod is a dead Zod
NEWGROUNDS COMEDY GOLD, UPDATED DAILY
http://badges.steamprofile.com/profile/default/steam/76561198011784807.png

 

Offline taylor

  • Super SCP/Linux Guru
  • Moderator
  • 212
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Wait, that's another code bug?  I thought it was a problem with the data included in the mediaVP? :confused:
Only in your changes (that GLOWMAP_FRAME_OVERRIDE crap which you removed).  The problem is that the animation for a shockwave has to based on the speed and duration of the shockwave (ie, it will play faster or slower based on the shockwave itself).  So standard timing can't work for shockwaves since the animation either ends too soon, or gets cut-off before it's finished.  There was a big deal about this when the code was originally done and I had to add the shockwave_get_framenum() function to compensate for it.  2D shockwaves already account for this timing issue, the model code doesn't/can't though, at least not by itself.

I just cleaned it up and commented the special frame handling a bit better so that this is clearer.  I've got the commit ready with the fix, just haven't had the opportunity to actually get it in yet.

 

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
Ugh.  Okay, I thought it was a data bug.  Thread moved then.

Wouldn't it be easier/better/simpler to just change anim->total_time whenever a shockwave is created?

 

Offline taylor

  • Super SCP/Linux Guru
  • Moderator
  • 212
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Wouldn't it be easier/better/simpler to just change anim->total_time whenever a shockwave is created?
It's already set/needed by the shockwave code though, and why bother computing current time twice for the same object?  Also, shockwave_get_framenum() will kill a shockwave once it's animation has played through, since shockwave animations shouldn't play more than once, so it needs to be excuted for every shockwave each frame regardless.  It's easier/better/simpler as it is (was).

 

Offline Goober5000

  • HLP Loremaster
  • Moderator
  • 214
    • Goober5000 Productions
Bah, okay.  I'm just not a fan of big stupid global override variables.

 

Offline taylor

  • Super SCP/Linux Guru
  • Moderator
  • 212
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Bah, okay.  I'm just not a fan of big stupid global override variables.
I'm not actually using the global in the modified code.  All the global did was store the obj instance so that we know which shockwave to get the current frame for.  It's possible to figure that out with just the existing Interp_objnum global, which is what I'm using in the newer code instead of GLOWMAP_FRAME_OVERRIDE.  Didn't think it was worth yet another global just for something so simple.