Author Topic: Integrate own planets  (Read 1321 times)

Integrate own planets
Hi. Is there a tutorial somewhere where I can learn to integrate my "own" planets as a jpeg/bmp into the game to have them as backgrounds? I'd need the planets of the solar system for my missions :)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 06:44:16 am by bomb3rman »

Re: Integrate own planetes
Hello, you can use a tbm file to add the list of desired bitmaps to add in the form of yourname-str.tbm

Inside the file put these lines:
;======>======>======>======>>BACKGROUND IMAGES<<=======<=======<=======<=======
$BitmapX:   bitmap name no extension)
#end

You can add more lines if you need of course.
Then inside your effect folder you can put your bitmaps here, they will now appear in FRED.

Edit: if it's for image editing, I'm not very good at it but when I needed new planets I downloaded them from the net then edited in photoshop (save as *.tga and added alpha layer for transparency).
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 04:42:20 am by krevett62 »

Offline The E

• He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
The complete documentation of stars.tbl the -str.tbm can be found here.
When it comes to file formats, the best format to use for these graphics is png. Other formats are basically not relevant to this, and while you can use jpgs or tgas, they are both inferior to png in all aspects (jpg because of its inherent lossiness, tga because of the filesizes that a decent looking planet requires).
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

Offline Nyctaeus

• The Slavic Engineer
  • My "FS Ships" folder is 582gb.
    • Minecraft
    • Exile
1: Prepare your planet: I recommend your bitmaps to be at least 1024x1024 pixels large. I prefer 2048x2048 for better quality. At least, planets are cool! Nobody wants to see them blurry :P.