Author Topic: linux launcher idea  (Read 3142 times)

Offline draeath

• Homepage of Draeath
I'm a new java programmer, and as such I am looking for ideas to get me to read and learn...

I was thinking of trying my hand on building a launcher for fs2 linux in java (using SWING, so all you need is sun-java 1.5)

I can't promise much now, but any suggestions? I realize there are other launchers in the works, but this would be mostly for my self. Who knows - maybe something nice will come of it?

(i'm thinking of eventually reading command line options from an xml file, so the launcher itself would not have to be updated for each FS2O version...)

I do have a question about MacOSX - how does paths work on the command line? Like unix? (windows has it's own launcher, so I have no intention of building something for that)
PGP Key: 508A8ADE (http://tinyurl.com/3d4ue7)

Offline taylor

• Super SCP/Linux Guru
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Sounds good.  I'd be interested in seeing what you come up with. :)

And yes, paths under OS X, being a UNIX-based OS, are just like Linux.  Some things can be in a slightly different place, but most of the common stuff is where you expect it.  There is a far greater chance of OS X using filesystems with different capabilities though (ie, may be case-sensitvie, may not) and more often than not the application path will contain spaces.

Offline draeath

• Homepage of Draeath
Thanks! It will be a while before I can get anything usable, there are a LOT of things I don't know how to do.

The filesystem differences won't be an issue, I was mostly concerned about fundamental differences ( / vs c:, / vs \ )

In linux, case matters, and spaces need to be escaped - on a FS without spaces the escaping won't matter (nothing to escape) and the case sensitivity won't matter either.

I can't make any promises, as I have been working 50+ hours a week lately, and I have a lot of other "real life" things coming up but I'll do what I can :D