Poll

What is the max texture size for your gfx card

less than 256 x 256!!!
0 (0%)
256 x 256
0 (0%)
512 x 512
0 (0%)
1024 x 1024
1 (5.3%)
2048 x 2048
6 (31.6%)
4096 x 4096 or more
12 (63.2%)
Other (detail)
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 19

Voting closed: December 25, 2002, 08:14:26 am

Author Topic: What is the max texture size for your gfx card  (Read 2303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
This information could be useful for source code decisions

 

Offline Ryx

  • Twilight Falling
  • 29
  • Away in RL land. Back later.
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Hmm I had to search around, but apperently, it 4096x4096x32b for the GF3.
Intel C2D E6850|4Gb RAM|Abit IP35 PRO|ATI X1900 XT

 

Offline Ashrak

  • Not Banned
  • 210
    • Imagination Designs
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
i hacve no idea and dont care i can go as high as i want i think or atleast till monitor handels it :)
I hate My signature!

 

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Here is a program that will tell you if you dont know:
http://www.ijbrooks.demon.co.uk/tom/tTest.exe

 

Offline Nico

  • Venom
    Parlez-vous Model Magician?
  • 212
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
old radeon: 2048*2048
SCREW CANON!

 

Offline Sesquipedalian

  • Atankharz'ythi
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Originally posted by RandomTiger
Here is a program that will tell you if you dont know:
http://www.ijbrooks.demon.co.uk/tom/tTest.exe


I put it in the C:\Program Files\DirectX, but it goves me an error and doesn't run.  Where is it supposed to go?
Sesqu... Sesqui... what?
Sesquipedalian, the best word in the English language.

The Scroll of Atankharzim | FS2 syntax highlighting

 

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
It should work anywhere. Perhaps you could tell me the error message. You probably need something you dont have.

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Hmm I had to search around, but apperently, it 4096x4096x32b for the GF3.


I guess that is what mine is then; I don't really know anything about texture sizes other than that the old Voodoo2 cards had some limitations there.

 

Offline vyper

  • 210
  • The Sexy Scotsman
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Originally posted by RandomTiger
Here is a program that will tell you if you dont know:
http://www.ijbrooks.demon.co.uk/tom/tTest.exe


Direct3D could not be initialised.... etc.

Me got: MATROX 32MB G400 - I think it can go all the way up to about 2048*2048... must find another way to check.
"But you live, you learn.  Unless you die.  Then you're ****ed." - aldo14

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Is there really much point in having texture sizes above 1024 or so? The only people who would use anything bigger are professional 3D artists... :p

 

Offline Bri_Dog

  • 28
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
I already told you mine, 1024x1024
Sig

 

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
In normal code the main hall bitmap is loaded as one big 1024 x 768 texture then cut into smaller 256 x 256 bits. Im playing with the idea of just using a wopping 1024 x 1024 to display it, could save me a lot of trouble in the DX8 branch.

 

Offline vyper

  • 210
  • The Sexy Scotsman
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Originally posted by CP5670
Is there really much point in having texture sizes above 1024 or so? The only people who would use anything bigger are professional 3D artists... :p


Bigger textures = more detail = cooler looks = better

So there. :p


EDIT: http://www.reactorcritical.com/chips/chip-g400.shtml  - The G400 can handle up to 2048*2048. :)
« Last Edit: September 27, 2002, 08:13:53 am by 798 »
"But you live, you learn.  Unless you die.  Then you're ****ed." - aldo14

 

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Originally posted by vyper

Bigger textures = more detail = cooler looks = better


Thats true but I find it difficult to think of a computer game that would ever need a texture bigger than 4096 sqrd. Also resolutions needed really go up much higher. THe gfx card makers are going to have to come up with something else to keep us going. Cant wait to see what they focus on.

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Well, there aren't many cards today that can handle these huge textures on everything while still having a high-polycount scene and keeping the framerate reasonable. :p

Quote
In normal code the main hall bitmap is loaded as one big 1024 x 768 texture then cut into smaller 256 x 256 bits. Im playing with the idea of just using a wopping 1024 x 1024 to display it, could save me a lot of trouble in the DX8 branch.


Ah, that's probably where those criss-crossing lines come from on GF3/GF4 cards. Is it possible to show menus in 2D using Directdraw or something and switching to 3D mode in the actual game only? (this is what most games do)

 

Offline RandomTiger

  • Senior Member
  • 211
What is the max texture size for your gfx card
Quote
Originally posted by CP5670
Is it possible to show menus in 2D using Directdraw or something and switching to 3D mode in the actual game only? (this is what most games do)


DirectDraw doesnt exist any more, and if it did you wouldnt catch me anywhere near it!