Author Topic: newbie having problems w/ control  (Read 5492 times)

Offline cnbcad

newbie having problems w/ control
I just installed the retail version of fs and the 1.2 patch...  Am currently going thru the initial training sequences...  The problems I'm having is with steering...  I should mintion that I'm relatively new to gaming of any kind...  I have a Saitek gamers pad...  The more I practice trying to bring enemy ships into my sights the worse I get...  It all seems so counter intuitive; everything moves the wrong way....  Is there a trick or any advice you can give?

Offline StratComm

• The POFressor
  • Cameron Crazy
    • http://www.geocities.com/cek_83/index.html
Well, lets see.  If you're not used to flight controls (down on your pad will pull your fighter up and point at the space above you, up moves your nose down) that could be giving you trouble.  If you're getting inverted motion horizontally, I don't know what you're doing.  However, to fix either of these things to your preference, press F2 (mainhall or in-mission), go to control configuration, and then ship controls.  Select Yaw and press invert to switch the direction you turn in; select Pitch and press invert to swap up for down.  Though once you learn it the standard method is actually easier across all control devices, I can see where it may be difficult to grasp if you're approaching this with a gameing pad instead of the mouse standby or a full joystick.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2005, 03:36:55 pm by 570 »
who needs a signature? ;)
It's not much of an excuse for a website, but my stuff can be found here

"Holding the last thread on a page comes with an inherent danger, especially when you are edit-happy with your posts.  For you can easily continue editing in points without ever noticing that someone else could have refuted them." ~Me, on my posting behavior

Last edited by StratComm on 08-23-2027 at 08:34 PM

Offline Nuclear1

I use keyboard. :nervous: