Author Topic: Unable to get into FS2NetD  (Read 2525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Unable to get into FS2NetD
Hi

I just set up FS_Open and an account on FS2NetD, but when I click on the Ready Room door, I get as far as "autojoining public channel" and it doesn't move past that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
What build are you using?  I recommend trying a recent 3.6.10 build.  http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/board,173.0.html
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Just downloaded the latest on the board.

Still doesn't work.   :(
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Do you have a multi.cfg file in your fs2\data directory?  If so try renaming it. 

Do you have port 7808 open on your firewall? 

If neither of those work attach the multi.log file from your fs2\data directory. 

« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 08:39:10 pm by FUBAR-BDHR »
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Okay, I did #1, yes to #2 (i think)

It didn't work, so here's #3

FreeSpace Multi Log - Opened Sat, Jan 17, 2009  at 06:05PM
----
----
----


01/17 18:05:36~   psnet_init() detected lan connection
01/17 18:05:36~   psnet_get_ip() reports IP : 0.0.0.0
01/17 18:05:36~   Receive buffer set to 4096
01/17 18:05:36~   Send buffer set to 4096
01/17 18:05:36~   Error on IPX startup 10047
01/17 18:05:36~   Error on IPX startup 10047
01/17 18:05:36~   Found no RAS connections
01/17 18:05:50~   In psnet_use_protocol()
01/17 18:05:50~   Psnet : TCP broadcast
01/17 18:05:50~   Psnet using - NET_TCP
01/17 18:05:50~   NOTICE: Incompatible game tracker IP detected (gt.pxo.net), using default instead (fs2netd.game-warden.com)!
01/17 18:05:50~   NOTICE: Incompatible user tracker IP detected (ut.pxo.net), using default instead (fs2netd.game-warden.com)!
01/17 18:05:50~   NOTICE: Port for game/user trackers not specified, using default instead (12009).
01/17 18:05:50~   NOTICE: Incompatible chat server IP detected (chat.pxo.net), using default instead (fs2netd.game-warden.com)!
01/17 18:05:50~   NOTICE: Incompatible banner URL detected (chat.pxo.net), using default instead (http://fs2netd.game-warden.com/files/banners)!


----
----
----
FreeSpace Multi Log - Closing on Sat, Jan 17, 2009  at 06:05PM
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Alright did you set up the network connection type in the launcher?  If it looks correct and you are using DSL try dial up for the heck of it.  If it doesn't like it set it back. 

Make sure PXO is turned on and you have your username and password entered correctly.  Hit F2 from the command deck. 

Can you attach the whole multi.log?  You should be able to under additional options when you post.
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Everything's configured, and no, it didn't like dialup

Here's the log.

[attachment stolen by Slimey Goober]
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
This one is getting over my head but I'm guessing it has to do with this:

01/17 18:05:36~   Found no RAS connections

What is your OS and how do you connect to the internet?
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Vista, using a wired connection (ethernet)
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
What do you have set in the launcher under the network tab?
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
LAN, and Dual channel ISDN
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Shouldn't matter but try LAN and T1.  Also make sure you don't have anything in the force local port or IP. 
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
I never put anything in the Force slot, and T1 didn't work.
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Sorry other than some kind of firewall/router issue I'm out of ideas.  Hopefully someone else can figure this one out. 
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline castor

  • 29
    • http://www.ffighters.co.uk./home/
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Double check that the 3.6.10 build really got enabled in the launcher?

 

Offline captain-custard

  • previously known as andicirk
  • 210
  • one sandwich short of a picnic
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
make sure you have put all  of your fs2netd info in the pilot multiplayer settings , pilot name password etcand that you have the pxo selected
"Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the universe together."

 

Offline taylor

  • Super SCP/Linux Guru
  • Moderator
  • 212
    • http://www.icculus.org/~taylor
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
Make sure to open port 7117 in your firewall as well.

 

Offline Recluse

  • 22
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
I recently had a similar issue. Using the 3.6.10 executable from Turey's launcher I could NOT get into FS2NET. I COULD get in with an older 3.6.9 exe. Also, downloading the most recent Nightly Build got me in. My buddy and I have had good bulletproof COOP success in both missions and campaigns. Too bad we both suck so badly at space combat! :lol:  Thankfully RESPAWN makes up for a lot of it... By the time I work through the Single Player campaigns, I hope my skillz approach the level of a rank amateur  :drevil:

BTW. I did have both 7808 and 7117 TCP/UDP opened in my router as did my friend.

  

Offline Rhymes

  • Galactic Mediator
  • 29
  • Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Re: Unable to get into FS2NetD
After all this time, I finally figured out the problem.  My network card was blocking access, so once I uninstalled the drivers, it worked perfectly. 
If you don't have Knossos, you need it.

“There was a button," Holden said. "I pushed it."
"Jesus Christ. That really is how you go through life, isn't it?”