Author Topic: Putting together a team for a space racing game  (Read 778 times)

Offline Unknown Target

• Get off my lawn!
  • Push.Pull?
Putting together a team for a space racing game
(Copied from my post at ModDB)

Hello everyone. So here's my conundrum - I am a 2D/3D artist and game designer, yet have absolutely zero coding skill. That's not to say I don't know how games work or anything, I just simply can not code  to save my life.

So, with that out of the way, here's the deal - and I actually suggested this once many years ago, started a mini mod, and didn't really get around to being able to start it (mostly because of lack of skill and understanding). Well I have a summer and much more knowledge now, and I'd like to start it again.

Basically, the idea is a space race game - you go fast, try to beat the other person through a series of rings floating in space. Simple, easy, quick to prototype. The idea may be further expanded to include some ground-based levels, but the basic idea is a ring racer. So how is it hard? Well beyond the obvious possibility of adding weaponry, I really want to put in some more complex level ideas; stuff that's a bit more than "cool background with zippy ships". Some of the gates may require you to enter them at certain angles, or other gates are inside derelict ships, requiring you to dodge and weave through spars and beams. Other rings are inside asteroid fields, or near a sun. Basically, a living environment where not getting pulverized is half the prize.

Ah, you say, but what can this bloke do? Is he just another person asking everyone else to make his "dream" come true? No. I will work and do my fair share. If this turns out to be fun, I would like it to go commercial, and if you're a fun person to work with, it'd be great to have you on board.

Here's the way this would work;