Author Topic: [Solved] Question on an error  (Read 3010 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Saturn

  • 25
[Solved] Question on an error
Hi, I just updated my files to 3.6.10 mediaVP's, launcher to 5.5e, etc.  I started to play the FSO with only the media apps as the MOD. I ran into some strange behavior. On one of the first missions all of a sudden everyone started to move around at warp speed. Mission was over quickly. Then I got kicked out of the game with the following errors:


In sexpression: ( is-destroyed-delay 5 "GTT Argo 01" )
(Error appears to be: GTT Argo 01)
File: MissionParse.cpp
Line: 6016


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: Invalid ship/wing name.

In sexpression: ( is-destroyed-delay 5 "GTT Argo 01" )
(Error appears to be: GTT Argo 01)
File: MissionParse.cpp
Line: 6016


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: Invalid ship name.

In sexpression: ( when
   ( targeted "GTT Argo 01" )
   ( training-msg "Good.  Now You'll" )
)
(Error appears to be: GTT Argo 01)
File: MissionParse.cpp
Line: 6016


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: Invalid ship/wing name.

In sexpression: ( when
   ( is-destroyed-delay 0 "GTT Argo 01" )
   ( do-nothing )
)
(Error appears to be: GTT Argo 01)
File: MissionParse.cpp
Line: 6016


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------

I would guess I forgot to update something but I can't seem to figure out what, I searched through the forums but didn't locate this error. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

Never mind  found my mistake. I found I missed the patch. I will try it again.

Several times in different missions I have had the play speed up. It seems to be in hyper mode, very fast graphics and time lined events move at a rapid rate. Any ideas? I have played several missions over and it does not seem to reoccur nor does it crash the game (although I got killed a few times). It just did it in the stealth test mission.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2010, 01:20:36 pm by Jeff Vader »
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

  • Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • 212
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Question on an error
Yea you are probably hitting time compression.  > speeds up time and < slows it down. 
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Question on an error
He did. "<" and ">" (assuming an American keyboard layout).

Open the options menu, go to the key binding page, and select the "Misc" tab. Increase/Decrease time compression is somewhere in that list.

EDIT: Post deletion is not funny.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2010, 02:49:58 pm by The E »
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
Re: Question on an error

Thank you, both of you.
Shortly after I posted I found the keyboard commands. I see how I fat fingered this while playing. The laptop I have has a slightly different keyboard layout besides the normal QWERTY.
I tried to delete my last post but E was so quick in responding when I deleted it his response showed up. Again thank you all for being such a great source of information and helping everyone
 
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
Re: Question on an error
I now have a new problem; while playing the Into the lion's den mission, I had several errors before it started:
Error: loop2-2.fs2(line 446:
Error: Missing required token: [$Team:]. Found [$Callsign: Snipes]  instead.

File: PARSELO.CPP
Line: 670


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: loop2-2.fs2(line 477:
Error: Missing required token: [$Team:]. Found [$Callsign: Xinny]  instead.

File: PARSELO.CPP
Line: 670


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: loop2-2.fs2(line 508:
Error: Missing required token: [$Team:]. Found [$Callsign: Zero]  instead.

File: PARSELO.CPP
Line: 670


Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------

After I clicked through those the mission started. I blew the devices and a bunch of bombers and fighters then headed back to the node following Alpha 2. Alpha 2 headed through the node and kept going way after the 15 minutes was up (and 10,000m away from the node) wave after wave of MAra fighters kept coming. it seemed endless so I escaped out.  Did the errors I had at the beginning of the mission cause other errors in the timing?

Of course 10 minutes after I post this I will probably find the answer but I did try searching for the error and mission.
Thanks.
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Question on an error
What build are you using? Can you run that builds' debug version and post the log (If you don't know how to do this, read the FAQ stickied in this board. Its last point explains how to do it in detail)?
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
Re: Question on an error
Hi. I am using the 3.6.10.  I will read the debug instructions and try them tomorrow. Need to sleep for work. I exited the SOC loop how do I replay missions played or skipped?

Thanks. :)
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Question on an error
You can replay missions in the Tech Room. It has a mission simulator that allows you to play any mission of the current campaign that you have finished; if you press Ctrl-Shift-S, every mission will be playable.
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
Re: Question on an error
Hi,  I went to the tech room and pulled up the simulator. Using the info you gave, I tried to run the mission. I used the 3.6.10 debug.exe and the 3.6.10 mediavps then I tried to play the mission. It came up with the same error but this time it would not let me click through to play. This time it shut down FS and took me back to the launcher and gave the standard notify MS window.

Attached are 2 files an error log and the fs2_open.log.
I am running Win7 on a Toshiba Tecra M4.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 12:50:03 am by Saturn »
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Question on an error
Code: [Select]
Found root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\Transcend.vp' with a checksum of 0xb9f61440
Please move this to a separate mod folder. It does not belong in the FS2 root directory.

Also, are you sure you are using the 3.6.10 Final from this thread: http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,64520.0.html ?

In addition, I want you to try the 3.6.12 Release Candidate 1 (found here).

Either of those should probably fix this.
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
Also,
Code: [Select]
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\3610_Patch.vp' ... 133 files
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\MV_Advanced.vp' ... 2868 files
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\MV_Assets.vp' ... 1659 files
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\MV_Core.vp' ... 80 files
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\MV_Effects.vp' ... 1046 files
Searching root pack 'C:\games\freespace2\mediavps\MV_Music.vp' ... 32 files

some of your MediaVP file numbers seem to be a bit off. As you can see if you compare them to the correct numbers available from the MediaVPs release thread:
Code: [Select]
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\3610_Patch.vp' ... 180 files
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\MV_Advanced.vp' ... 2868 files
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\MV_Assets.vp' ... 1810 files
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\MV_Core.vp' ... 146 files
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\MV_Effects.vp' ... 1046 files
Searching root pack 'C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps\MV_Music.vp' ... 32 files

If after relocating Transcend those numbers are still wrong, redownload the flawed MediaVPs from the MediaVPs release thread.
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
Well I tried again but no joy.

I first moved the transcend vp out of the Freespace root but had the same problem and what looked like an identical log file as last time.
I then downloaded the 3.6.10 file from the thread that was indicated. Ran it again with the same results.
I then downloaded the MediaVPs and patch again and ran those. I had the same result.
Lastly I downloaded and ran the 3.6.12d.sse2 from the indicated thread. It still crashed but with a different log. The log is attached.  :confused:
Once again, thank you for all the help.

[attachment deleted by admin]
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Okay, first, you need to use the "Disable GLSL" option in the Launcher's troubleshooting section.

Second, please place the attached mission into mediavps\data\missions (you may have to create that directory if it doesn't exist). See if that fixes it.

[attachment deleted by admin]
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Saturn

  • 25
E,  This solved the problem. The mission played normally with no errors. I take it that the original mission file must have been corrupt? Since I had to create a new mission folder under mediavps, I would also guess that anything placed in that folder takes precedence over missions installed during the retail install.

If this is true would I expect to get the same error on that mission if playing the retail version without the mediavp mod?

I can't seem to find another missions folder that is not in another mod folder so I take it I can't just drop this file into the retail install and if i wanted to try to fix this I would need to reinstall the retail version again. Correct assumption or am I out to lunch?

A big THANK YOU  :yes: for all the help and effort you and others put into trying to straighten me out.  :D
"One ping, one ping only, please"

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
Since I had to create a new mission folder under mediavps, I would also guess that anything placed in that folder takes precedence over missions installed during the retail install.
Precedence over files with the same name included in the MediaVPs. And if the MediaVPs are an active mod and retail contents include files with the same name, \mediavps\data\missions\ also takes precedence over those.

If this is true would I expect to get the same error on that mission if playing the retail version without the mediavp mod?

I can't seem to find another missions folder that is not in another mod folder so I take it I can't just drop this file into the retail install and if i wanted to try to fix this I would need to reinstall the retail version again. Correct assumption or am I out to lunch?
In theory, if you want to alter retail missions, you'd place those retail missions in \freespace2\data\missions\ . But, one of the modding basics is: never but anything in \freespace2\data\ . Unless you're very sure of what you're doing.

Also, wiser people can correct me but I do believe that this is a problem with the altered missions in the MediaVPs. Playing without the MediaVPs should not cause this error.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 11:59:10 pm by Jeff Vader »
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Moderator
  • 213
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Correct. The mediavps mission had some errors due to namually editing it in Notepad, they have been fixed in the FSU svn.
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
    • Steam
Correct. The mediavps mission had some errors due to namually editing it in Notepad, they have been fixed in the FSU svn.

I don't know why, but this spelling mistake appeals to me!


In theory, if you want to alter retail missions, you'd place those retail missions in \freespace2\data\missions\ . But, one of the modding basics is: never but anything in \freespace2\data\ . Unless you're very sure of what you're doing.


Well, you can create a movies folder in that folder and put the MVE's from the retail disks in there, this way you don't need to have the discs in the drive to see the cutscenes.
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
you can create a movies folder in that folder and put the MVE's from the retail disks in there, this way you don't need to have the discs in the drive to see the cutscenes.
Or you can just have the FS2OGGCutscenepack. As he does.
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []