Author Topic: Weird polygons for backgrounds and while shooting at enemies  (Read 1299 times)

Offline phil67

Weird polygons for backgrounds and while shooting at enemies
Hi all,

I am new to FS2 Open. I installed the retail FS2 from GOG.com and its works fine. When using the FS2 Open exec, I get weird polygons for background while shooting at enemies (debris?), see images enclosed, and it eventually ends with a CTD.

Here is my config:

P4 3.2GHz
1.5Mb
ATI RADEON 9100 IGP
ASUS P4R8L

I also enclose the log file.

Anyone experienced the same issue and have a clue on how to fix it?

Cheers,

Philippe

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline FUBAR-BDHR

• Self-Propelled Trouble Magnet
  • Master Drunk
    • 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers
Re: Weird polygons for backgrounds and while shooting at enemies
Update your video drivers for starters.  If you still have problems after that turn on -no_glsl and see if that works around the issue.  Betting on the drivers though.
No-one ever listens to Zathras. Quite mad, they say. It is good that Zathras does not mind. He's even grown to like it. Oh yes. -Zathras

Offline headdie

• i don't use punctuation lol
  • Lawful Neutral with a Chaotic outook
    • Minecraft
    • Headdie on Deviant Art
do you only get it in FSO or can it occur in any game or program that uses 3D rendering?  I also get something similar but I suspect it's because my graphics card is getting hot.
Minister of Interstellar Affairs Sol Union - Retired
quote General Battuta - "FRED is canon!"
Contact me at [email protected]
My Release Thread, Old Release Thread, Celestial Objects Thread, My rubbish attempts at art

Offline phil67

Update your video drivers for starters.  If you still have problems after that turn on -no_glsl and see if that works around the issue.  Betting on the drivers though.

Thanks for the quick response and advice, will seek for the lastest driver and do a fresh install tonite. Will post the outcome

Philippe