Author Topic: Omnitech initial impressions and suggestions  (Read 1266 times)

Offline evilc

Omnitech initial impressions and suggestions
Hi, I recently tried omnitech and thought I would feed back on the project.
I am new to the MC series, but basically new to the MechWarrior franchise. I did have a copy of MCO from ages ago (1.x?), but I don't think I played it as it was too buggy.

BUGS
1) When loading a game, often the mech store is empty. I need to back up to mission selection, then go into the mission again and the mech store is then populated.

LACK OF INFO
1) I see no readme file in 304. I had an old copy of MCO, so I got some info from that, but I don't see much in the way of info on how to play the game. For example, in the support palette, there are no tooltips to say what each item is, so I have no idea what is what. Took me ages to work out how to salvage a mech.
2) Following on from (1), it was not trivial to work out how to change resolution to 1920x1200. A mode list needs to be included.

UI SHORTCOMINGS
The following hotkeys would be highly desirable:
1) Center view on selected unit.
2) Hold to drag (Hold button and move mouse to scroll). If you cannot add new options to bindings, hard-wiring it to MMB would be preferable.
3) A way of avoiding mis-clicks where you intend to issue an attack order but instead issue a move order. So something like adding a "attack only" hotkey that when held will ignore all clicks on terrain, and only obey clicks on enemies.

The mouse pan (RMB plus move) is too sensitive - some way to adjust this would be nice.

APPEARANCE
1) I have zero issue with low-poly models. What I do have issue with though, is the textures. I find it very hard when zoomed out to see the mechs properly on some terrains. I think some of the rock textrures need to be blurred a bit or something as they are too harsh.

OTHER
Not sure about some of this stuff, as I do not know how MC is "meant" to work.
1) Stacking orders.