Author Topic: Voices in Knossos Install  (Read 3043 times)

Offline Atranen

Voices in Knossos Install
Hi all,

I've been playing FSO and related mods for about a decade now, but this is my first time posting. Thanks for all the excellent work you do!

I recently attempted to install the freespace port through the knossos installer, and noticed the voices (command briefings, in-mission) were not included. I remember they were removed from the game a few years ago as retail FS1 was rereleased. I happen to have bought original FS1, and remember that a few years ago I somehow got the voice files (from there, or maybe an older version of the FSPort) to run.

But, I'm not sure how to replicate whatever I did, and couldn't find instructions (at least ones detailed enough for someone unfamiliar with the architecture of these programs to follow) on how to import these files.

How would you all recommend resolving this issue? Or, is it supposed to do it automatically but an issue with my own knossos install?

Re: Voices in Knossos Install
If you have the original game you could take the *.VP file that contains the voice (only that file, not the others as it most likely will break your install) into your main FS2 folder, but I don't know which file was that, sorry.

Offline Cobra

• Snake on a Cain
    • Minecraft
    • Twitter
The voices were taken out a few versions ago. If you have access to FS1 or an older version of FSPort, you can get the voices there.

IIRC the reason for doing so had something to do with the fact that including the voices basically constituted redistributing a full game for free, something that could have been done years ago when it was abandonware. Obviously, that's no longer the case.
To consider the Earth as the only populated world in infinite space is as absurd as to assert that in an entire field of millet, only one grain will grow. - Metrodorus of Chios