Author Topic: How to build a guitar in many, many easy steps*  (Read 53915 times)

Offline Martinus

• Aka Maeglamor
    • Hard Light Productions
How to build a guitar in many, many easy steps*
(*assuming the builder has the skills necessary to execute said task.)

Ok I started this a few weeks back, been building it on my fridays off uni with a guy I know, it's his A-level project for technology.

Please excuse the photo quality, I'm no artiste. ;)

The body; 2 pieces of ash cut to the general shape of an Explorer:

Different angle:

Back showing cavity cover:

Cavity for controls and wiring:

The cover of the cavity; a piece of ebony cut from waste:

The neck, still needs a truss rod channel routed. Also a piece of wood known as 'purpleheart' for the fretboard, pretty dense wood and a great colour IMHO.

Partially cut head stock with drilled machine head holes (tuners):

UPDATE: Well it's been ages since I posted this thread and I'd forgotten that the images were hosted on HLP's old server so I've re-uploaded them and relinked everything. Lost a few photos for some reason so I had to make a few minor edits. Every now and then I get a message regarding this and, rather than simply put another web-page up, I thought it would be nice to send people here to HLP as the replies, to me, made this such a fun write-up. :)

« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 01:09:25 pm by Martinus »

Offline Martinus

• Aka Maeglamor
    • Hard Light Productions
Pickups, bridge (Gibson style tunomatic), neck plate, control pots and other bits and bobs. (sorry, loads of chrome and a flash is a bad mix :D ):

Fretwire, vernier calipers, pickup routing jig, fretboard radius guide:

Tools:
Router - guitarmakers best friend
Junior hacksaw for cutting fret slots
Razor saw for precision cutting
Block plane for levelling the fretboard
Coping saw for cutting the headstock shape etc.
Standard diameter fret file
Deadblow hammer with rubber and plastic faces for seating the frets