Author Topic: You know what sucks?  (Read 13320 times)

Offline mikhael

• Back to skool
  • Fnord!
    • http://www.google.com/search?q=404error.com
A) not having a proper joystick and throttle rig (RIP my Thrustmaster HOTAS setup)

B) Ulysses AKA The Papier-Mache fighter. :D

I just started playing again, with a borrowed Logitech cheapass stick and my Nostromo Speedpad. Its not substitute for a proper HOTAS setup. :(

I don't remember Freespace missions being so dark, either. I flew against a Shivan Comm Node at Ross128 in one of the mission simulations and couldn't see the thing except when other ships were jumping in. Probably more realistic, but damn is it hard to shoot down Shivans in the dark. :D

It might be time to break out the soldering iron and see what I can do with my old stick and throttle and make them work. Until i have a job again, a HOTAS/Cougar setup is going to be a long way off.
[I am not really here. This post is entirely a figment of your imagination.]

Offline Shrike

• Postadmin
    • http://www.3dap.com/hlp
I use a two-button flightstick for FS you know.
WE ARE HARD LIGHT PRODUCTIONS. YOU WILL LOWER YOUR FIREWALLS AND SURRENDER YOUR KEYBOARDS. WE WILL ADD YOUR INTELLECTUAL AND VERNACULAR DISTINCTIVENESS TO OUR OWN. YOUR FORUMS WILL ADAPT TO SERVICE US. RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.

Offline mikhael

• Back to skool
  • Fnord!
Originally posted by Shrike
I use a two-button flightstick for FS you know.

How can you dignify that with the word "flightstick"? :D

I'm used to have no less than six hats, two trigger positions, a rocker, five axes, and seven buttons to spare.

How people play stick games using the keyboard instead of a throttle is beyond me. I lack that kind of skill.

Offline Knight Templar

• Stealth
  • I'm a magic man, I've got magic hands.
Meh I use a Microsoft Sidewinder pad..  yeah it doesn't make me the best pilot, but I can do barrel rolls like no bodies bussiness :D