Author Topic: SOLVED!Coder attention!: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit  (Read 4054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline torc

  • 210
  • Posts: 1,369
  • Diaspora SFX engineer
Hi. as you know,Halleck did a patch that allows you to assign different sounds at the glide on/off.

http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=76592.msg1524429#msg1524429

Wanna know if is possible using his patch and modify it for the cockpit engine sound ,throttle position and afterburner.
Honestly,i need it for Diaspora,but i think this should be a great improvement for FS2 too.

thanks in advance for the help.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2011, 10:19:26 am by torc »
indossare una divisa può avere un prezzo alto...ma a volte...è troppo alto!!! Bill Adama

Offline MetalDestroyer

  • Starwars reborn!
  • 210
  • Posts: 1,436
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2011, 08:53:45 am »
The same for Fly By sound.

Offline torc

  • 210
  • Posts: 1,369
  • Diaspora SFX engineer
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2011, 09:00:12 am »
what do you mean? flyby for ships or for guns?
indossare una divisa può avere un prezzo alto...ma a volte...è troppo alto!!! Bill Adama

Offline Spoon

  • 212
  • Posts: 6,207
  • ヾ(´︶`♡)ノ
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2011, 09:21:21 am »
You can't assign different flyby sounds for guns. (I know I've requested it a few times)
Urutorahappī!!

[02:42] <@Axem> spoon somethings wrong
[02:42] <@Axem> critically wrong
[02:42] <@Axem> im happy with these missions now
[02:44] <@Axem> well
[02:44] <@Axem> with 2 of them

Offline MetalDestroyer

  • Starwars reborn!
  • 210
  • Posts: 1,436
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2011, 10:19:17 am »
what do you mean? flyby for ships or for guns?

for ships. You can define Engine sound for ships but not the Fly By sound. or perhaps this features has been added in recent nightly ?

I know we can set FlyBy sound by added new species and so modify it in the sounds.tbl. But I don't want to add new species for just some ships.

Offline torc

  • 210
  • Posts: 1,369
  • Diaspora SFX engineer
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2011, 10:37:35 am »
exactly MetalDestroyer, you cannot...hope someone fix this issue. The FS2 sound engine really show his limits :(
indossare una divisa può avere un prezzo alto...ma a volte...è troppo alto!!! Bill Adama

Offline Commander Zane

  • 212
  • Posts: 5,080
  • Spoot Knight of Anvils
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2011, 01:51:57 pm »
I thought Inferno R1 had different ship flyby sounds.

Offline Dragon

  • Citation needed
  • 212
  • Posts: 6,692
  • The sky is the limit.
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2011, 02:06:16 pm »
Flyby sounds are currently assigned per species.
I (and other people in this thread) would like to see them assignable on a per-ship basis.
Same goes for cockpit engine sound, AB sound and all throttle sounds.
Flyby sound for primaries on a per-weapon basis is also something that has been requested a few times and would be great to have (for WoD, for example).

Offline torc

  • 210
  • Posts: 1,369
  • Diaspora SFX engineer
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2011, 03:02:57 pm »
well...let's hope Halleck patch is useful as a start point for the coders.
indossare una divisa può avere un prezzo alto...ma a volte...è troppo alto!!! Bill Adama

Offline m!m

  • 211
  • Posts: 2,164
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 02:40:14 am »
I have a patch that adds customizable flyby sounds on a per-ship basis:
http://pastebin.com/mJK6j9s0
It works when I tested it but can a coder take a look at the patch?

Syntax is nearly the same as in sounds.tbl minus the first argument and the "$FlybySnd" option comes after the "$GlideEndSnd" entry.

Offline m!m

  • 211
  • Posts: 2,164
Re: Feature request: adding different engine sounds for player ship cockpit
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2011, 09:25:45 am »
I have a patch that adds the requested features. It has been tested by torc and seems to work.
Syntax:
Added options (parsed in the specified sequence):
  • $CockpitEngineSnd
  • $FullThrottleSnd
  • $ZeroThrottleSnd
  • $ThrottleUpSnd
  • $ThrottleDownSnd
  • $AfterbrunerSnd
  • $AfterbrunerEngageSnd
  • $AfterbrunerFailedSnd

Those options come after $GlideEndSnd and also have the same syntax as $GlideEndSnd

I attached the patch and here is a test build: http://www.mediafire.com/?3ij4hc3aqxow4mo

Can a coder please take a look at the patch?

[attachment deleted by ninja]

Offline JGZinv

  • 211
  • Posts: 2,205
  • The Last Dual! Guardian
    • The FringeSpace Conversion Mod
This was one of the things I was going to request for FringeSpace soon. 

 :yes: :yes: :yes:
True power comes not from strength, but from the soul and imagination.
Max to PCS2 to FS2 SCP Guide
The FringeSpace Conversion Mod

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Global Moderator
  • 213
  • Posts: 13,304
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Committed in 7841.
Let there be light
Let there be moon
Let there be stars and let there be you
Let there be monsters and let there be pain
Let us begin to feel again
--Devin Townsend, Genesis

Offline MetalDestroyer

  • Starwars reborn!
  • 210
  • Posts: 1,436
I have a patch that adds the requested features. It has been tested by torc and seems to work.
Syntax:
Added options (parsed in the specified sequence):
  • $CockpitEngineSnd
  • $FullThrottleSnd
  • $ZeroThrottleSnd
  • $ThrottleUpSnd
  • $ThrottleDownSnd
  • $AfterbrunerSnd
  • $AfterbrunerEngageSnd
  • $AfterbrunerFailedSnd

Those options come after $GlideEndSnd and also have the same syntax as $GlideEndSnd

I attached the patch and here is a test build: http://www.mediafire.com/?3ij4hc3aqxow4mo

Can a coder please take a look at the patch?

What about FlyBySnd ?

Offline Reprobator

  • 29
  • Posts: 657
flyby inside your own cockpit? :p

$Formula: ( every-time
   ( has-time-elapsed "0" )
   ( Do-Nothing
   )
   ( send-message
      "#Dalek"
      "High"
      "Pro-crasti-nate"
   )
   )
)
+Name: Procratination
+Repeat Count: 99999999999
+Interval: 1

Offline Aardwolf

  • 211
  • Posts: 3,865
  • Posts: 16,384
    • Minecraft
Uh...

I hope it doesn't say "Afterbruner" in the actual code?

Offline torc

  • 210
  • Posts: 1,369
  • Diaspora SFX engineer
i suspect yes.... :lol:

I'll ask to M!m if he can fix that.
indossare una divisa può avere un prezzo alto...ma a volte...è troppo alto!!! Bill Adama

Offline The E

  • He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Global Moderator
  • 213
  • Posts: 13,304
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Uh...

I hope it doesn't say "Afterbruner" in the actual code?

Of course not.
Let there be light
Let there be moon
Let there be stars and let there be you
Let there be monsters and let there be pain
Let us begin to feel again
--Devin Townsend, Genesis