Author Topic: Distress Beacon - Newbie here!  (Read 1653 times)

Distress Beacon - Newbie here!
Hello there! I'm in dire need of someone's help. I'll try to explain my problem as best as I can, but it will be complicated.
I've been following this guide: http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=78710.0
I bought the GoG version and now I'm at Step 3) Getting the 3.7 final build.
Now how the hell do I install that? There's link which sends me to this thread where things are becoming confusing as nebula filled with shivan scouts: http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=85435.0
So.. I am Windows 8. According to that thread, there are two things to download, right?
The first is  wxLauncher (because I have win8, and there are 4 more links, so I chose: wxlauncher-0.9.4.exe) and another is zips down there. There's a note that if I have no idea what an SSE is, which I haven't (even after reading wiki), just download the third one.
I did that and extracted all files from the zip to my Games/Freespace 2 folder, I downloaded the wxLauncher and put that there too.
And here's the problem.
The guide says:
"Step 5)
1.Open the launcher that you downloaded in step 3. (Do they mean the wxlauncher-0.9.4.exe? Because I'm afraid there's no other launcher there)
2.Click on the "Browse" button at the top of the launcher. (There's no button "Browse" at the top of the launcher. It looks like I'm installing patch I click next, next, then there's button "Browse" which asks me where I want to install. There are no builds and nothing like that)

Then the next step:
3. Select the build you want to use. This is the FSO game engine you downloaded in step 3.
Select the one whose file name does not have the word "DEBUG" in it, such as fs2_open_3_6_18.exe or fs2_open_3_6_18_SSE.exe or so on."

Since there are no such things, I am unable to continue.
What am I doing wrong?
You guys are my only hope, I'll be thankful for any help.

Offline Rodo

• Custom tittle
  • stargazer