Author Topic: BtA Bug Report Thread  (Read 23580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Crazy_Ivan80

  • Node Warrior
  • 27
I'm having a tiny problem with BtA:
when I start the mod and arrive at the pilot selection screen I see the ui but no text whatsoever.
Using Knossos to start everything and my FSO version is the most recent.

thanks in advance
It came from outer space! What? Dunno, but it's going back on the next flight!
Proud member of Hard Light Productions. The last, best hope for Freespace...
:ha:

 

Offline mjn.mixael

  • Cutscene Master
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Anims: 420, Cutscenes: 10, Mainhalls: 7, Logos: 52
    • Steam
    • Twitter
    • Mix-Hai Productions
Can you post a debug log?
Cutscene Upgrade Project - Mainhall Remakes - MixaelANITools - Between the Ashes - MjnMixael's Render Boutique - Mix-Hai Productions
Youtube Channel - P3D Model Box - Photobucket Albums - Model Releases - Downloads
Between the Ashes is looking for committed testers, PM me for details.
Report MediaVP issues, now on the MediaVP Mantis! Read all about it Here!

 

Offline mjn.mixael

  • Cutscene Master
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Anims: 420, Cutscenes: 10, Mainhalls: 7, Logos: 52
    • Steam
    • Twitter
    • Mix-Hai Productions
A fix for the journal issues has been posted to Knossos. Update to version 1.2.1.
Cutscene Upgrade Project - Mainhall Remakes - MixaelANITools - Between the Ashes - MjnMixael's Render Boutique - Mix-Hai Productions
Youtube Channel - P3D Model Box - Photobucket Albums - Model Releases - Downloads
Between the Ashes is looking for committed testers, PM me for details.
Report MediaVP issues, now on the MediaVP Mantis! Read all about it Here!

 

Offline Novachen

  • 29
  • The one and only capella supernova
    • Twitter
And that is the only one, that was changed?

I am curious, because Knossos want to download the WHOLE modification again, even 1.2.0 is already installed :confused:

I do not feel, that this can be right or the meaning of the program if only a file with a few KB was changed  :rolleyes:

EDIT:
Mhh.. total changes of 660 KB in 7 files only, that were part of bta_core and bta_root. But except bta_maps all VPs have different hashes than the 1.2.0 VPs... :wtf:
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 11:41:23 am by Novachen »
Female FreeSpace 2 pilot since 1999.
Global moderator in the German FreeSpace Galaxy Forum.

Responsible for the german translation project FreiRaum - FreeSpace auf Deutsch.
Also responsible for the Nova Upgrade Project, which upgrades and fix older campaigns to make them play- and solveable again with current builds and MediaVPs.

Release List:
German Translations:
Awakenings, Between the Ashes 1, Deneb III, FreeSpace 2 (in development), FreeSpace Port, Silent Threat: Reborn & The Destiny of Peace

Nova Upgrades:
A Walk in the Sun, Into the Halls of Valhalla, Luyten Civil War, Renegade Resurgence, Rogues!, Storm Front Saga, The Deuterium Connection, Venice Mirror & What If: Another Great War

 
Let us praise the bureaucratic documentation!

 

Offline Crazy_Ivan80

  • Node Warrior
  • 27
I'm having a tiny problem with BtA:
when I start the mod and arrive at the pilot selection screen I see the ui but no text whatsoever.
Using Knossos to start everything and my FSO version is the most recent.

thanks in advance


https://fsnebula.org/log/5b8ed4f5cb0d331d2a549754

I hope that's the log and that it's useful.
I can't glean much useful from it (but then again, I'm not used working with the log's content)
It came from outer space! What? Dunno, but it's going back on the next flight!
Proud member of Hard Light Productions. The last, best hope for Freespace...
:ha:

  
Re: BtA Bug Report Thread
Don't know if anyone is still supporting this but I'm wanting to play the BtA mod as it looks excellent but am unable to.

I am experiencing problems with text which is garbled, flickering and creates diagonal streaks across the screen.  Makes the game unplayable because I can not adjust pilot settings (due to not being able to see/read the text) and can not see the names of ships in the game HUD and so on.

I created a thread in the general FSO Support section here:

https://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=95506.new#new

I'm trying to use various FSO 3.8 builds, none of which work.  Even have Knossos set to "nightlies"

I get the same problems with the Wings Of Dawn Mod too.

here are screenshots of both:

BTA Newsroom
http://tinypic.com/r/xe281j/9

BTA Options
http://tinypic.com/r/2ljpd04/9

WoD Profile Selection
http://tinypic.com/r/14bofa/9

WoD Options Screen
http://tinypic.com/r/qyi8fq/9

WoD Targetting Options Screen
http://tinypic.com/r/2f069w4/9

WoD Misc Options Screen
http://tinypic.com/r/16a7a4o/9

ideas welcomed.

Running on Lenovo Laptop

Intel Core i5-4200M CPU @ 2.50Ghz
Intel HD Graphics 4600
8GB RAM

Graphics drivers are up-to-date





 
Hey there,
new user of the site, old fan of Freespace.

I am currently on playthrough of Between of Ashes and I must say I am astonished of quality of this mod so far. Really well done.

I have a problem with "Bringing down the Gavel mission" - after a second subspace jump, on subspace exit there is a screen flash. My screen stays white. I can hear sound but screen doesn't return to normal view after white flash. Game runs normal.

I have fiddled with FSOpen options and searched the forum but I didn't find a solution. Has anyone encountered this problem?

cheers,
mk

 

Offline Novachen

  • 29
  • The one and only capella supernova
    • Twitter
Afaik that is a known problem that is caused by FSO itself however.

At least the Nightly from 27.07.2018 should work. Or 3.8.1-20180727 in Knossos.

Actually i am sure even most of the 2019 Nightlies should still work, as this is only a recent problem that was introduced a few weeks ago.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2019, 06:17:15 am by Novachen »
Female FreeSpace 2 pilot since 1999.
Global moderator in the German FreeSpace Galaxy Forum.

Responsible for the german translation project FreiRaum - FreeSpace auf Deutsch.
Also responsible for the Nova Upgrade Project, which upgrades and fix older campaigns to make them play- and solveable again with current builds and MediaVPs.

Release List:
German Translations:
Awakenings, Between the Ashes 1, Deneb III, FreeSpace 2 (in development), FreeSpace Port, Silent Threat: Reborn & The Destiny of Peace

Nova Upgrades:
A Walk in the Sun, Into the Halls of Valhalla, Luyten Civil War, Renegade Resurgence, Rogues!, Storm Front Saga, The Deuterium Connection, Venice Mirror & What If: Another Great War

 
Hey there,
new user of the site, old fan of Freespace.

I am currently on playthrough of Between of Ashes and I must say I am astonished of quality of this mod so far. Really well done.

I have a problem with "Bringing down the Gavel mission" - after a second subspace jump, on subspace exit there is a screen flash. My screen stays white. I can hear sound but screen doesn't return to normal view after white flash. Game runs normal.

I have fiddled with FSOpen options and searched the forum but I didn't find a solution. Has anyone encountered this problem?

cheers,
mk


FSO 3.8.1-20190102 did it for me...give it a go

 
@CapellaGoBoom, Novachen,
thank you so much for your responses.
Can confirm that FSO 3.8.1-20190102 works around this issue.

cheers,
mk



 
@CapellaGoBoom, Novachen,
thank you so much for your responses.
Can confirm that FSO 3.8.1-20190102 works around this issue.

cheers,
mk
I'm having the same issue. Downloaded 3.8.1 through Knossos, but it still hangs there. Can you specify what you did?

 

Offline mjn.mixael

  • Cutscene Master
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Anims: 420, Cutscenes: 10, Mainhalls: 7, Logos: 52
    • Steam
    • Twitter
    • Mix-Hai Productions
I intend to find this bug, fix it, and release a patch this evening.
Cutscene Upgrade Project - Mainhall Remakes - MixaelANITools - Between the Ashes - MjnMixael's Render Boutique - Mix-Hai Productions
Youtube Channel - P3D Model Box - Photobucket Albums - Model Releases - Downloads
Between the Ashes is looking for committed testers, PM me for details.
Report MediaVP issues, now on the MediaVP Mantis! Read all about it Here!

 
Not sure if this is a problem with the latest upload (1.2.2) or if it is a problem with Knossos, or if it is a problem with the fact that I'm trying to do this on Linux.

BUT, what is happening is I was playing through 1.2.1 and had gotten to the mission where I'm supposed to escort the Vasudan ambassador (Hammer's Edict, I think it's called).  I had some trouble figuring out how best to approach the mission and set it aside for a week or so.  I came back some time later and saw that there was an update available.  I figured, hey! why not?  Installed the 1.2.2 update and then tried to play.  The BtA intro video was not there, just the FSPort video.  Then I am told that the active campaign is missing.  I check the campaign list and sure enough nothing is there.  I wonder if I tried to run the wrong mod by mistake out of Knossos, but sure enough it is BtA.

I'm very confused at this point, so I try some amateur problem solving.  I have Knossos verify mod file integrity.  I then get the message:

"An error was detected while validating the game file integrity. The following packages are invalid:
-Package BTA_Root of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Core of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Maps of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Movies of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Music of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Voice of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Anims1 of mod Between The Ashes
-Package BTA_Advanced of mod Between The Ashes
These mods are invalid and need to be redownloaded before they can be played without errors.
Do that now?"

Edit:
Then, thinking, "Oh great!  Problem Solved!" of course I say do that now and wait for everything to download again.  Then after coming back from some chores or something, I see the following dissapointment:
"A critical error has occurred! Knossos might not work correctly until you restart it.  The error has been reported and will hopefully be fixed soon."

I've been through this redownloading cycle nearly 4 times now.  I keep getting a validation error.  I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.  Is this the right forum for me to post this?  Or should I move this to the Knossos thread?
« Last Edit: October 12, 2019, 08:29:14 pm by perihelion »
"Any idiot can face a crisis; it is this day to day living that wears you out." – Anton Chekhov

 

Offline Colt

  • 27
  • Needs more dakka
    • Steam
You're not alone. Downloaded BtA this morning and discovered that V1.22, although having the files, seems to only launch MediaVP's Freespace 2.

I was going to submit a report here earlier, but when I found that V1.21 I started to play it and lost track of time because this campaign's incredible.  :D

 
Right?  Blew me away the first time I played it.  I figured I'd given it enough time that I'd try it again and see how much I'd forgotten.  I'm at the mission with the remote hijack and even though I've played it before, I'm still sitting here laughing my ass off.  That mission has got to be a spook's wet dream.
"Any idiot can face a crisis; it is this day to day living that wears you out." – Anton Chekhov

 

Offline mjn.mixael

  • Cutscene Master
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Anims: 420, Cutscenes: 10, Mainhalls: 7, Logos: 52
    • Steam
    • Twitter
    • Mix-Hai Productions
Huh... I'll look into it tomorrow.
Cutscene Upgrade Project - Mainhall Remakes - MixaelANITools - Between the Ashes - MjnMixael's Render Boutique - Mix-Hai Productions
Youtube Channel - P3D Model Box - Photobucket Albums - Model Releases - Downloads
Between the Ashes is looking for committed testers, PM me for details.
Report MediaVP issues, now on the MediaVP Mantis! Read all about it Here!

 
Correction to previous message.  It wasn't the FSPort intro video, it's the regular FS2 Intro video.  Sorry.
"Any idiot can face a crisis; it is this day to day living that wears you out." – Anton Chekhov