Author Topic: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency  (Read 225660 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Yes, but I have a feeling that you and others on this forum are in the minority. :p I replay stuff all the time too, but I know that for most commercial (singleplayer) games, the majority of people only play through them once. There is little reason to think that it would be any different here. It's worth noting that most of the 5000 or so people (rough estimate) who have played PI are only casual FS players and aren't registered on HLP. As I said, I might as well work on a sequel instead.

Now the voice acting is something that would affect every mission and would take far less work to do, so that's a much more realistic option. It's more of an upgrade to the existing stuff than adding entirely new content.

 

Offline Mobius

  • Back where he started
  • 213
  • The Lightblue Ribbon
    • Skype
    • Twitter
    • The Lightblue Ribbon | Cultural Project
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
I think you're underestimating your campaign. That's what I think, dude :P

The add ons you mentioned can't take so much time. Working on a valid sequel would need time. And do we really need a sequel?
The Lightblue Ribbon | Website

Inferno Series: Inferno: Nostos - Inferno: Alliance
FSCRP Contributions: Aftermath - Deep Blood - Warzone
A tribute to FreeSpace in my book: Riflessioni dall'Infinito
My interviews: [ 1 ] - [ 2 ] - [ 3 ]

 

Offline karajorma

  • King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
  • 214
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Just don't take another six years to make it. :p
Karajorma's Freespace FAQ. It's almost like asking me yourself.

[ Diaspora ] - [ Seeds Of Rebellion ] - [ Mind Games ]

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Every capital ship I've ever seen has certain weakpoints. On the Saturn, it's the engines. Get the right angle behind one of the engine blocks and nothing will hurt you, although it's a pain to keep in that position as the Saturn keeps moving. Approaching from directly behind is also a good idea of you can get rid of that one annoying laser turret mounted on top of the big "mast".

As for the disarm-the-Saturn mission, that is insanely difficult and I've never beat it. However, you don't need to beat it to continue the campaign.

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Quote
Did you know that the Saturn missions are the hardest and without Trebechets, it is impossible to disable turrets and survive or even get close because if you get close, the Saturn will vaporize you with its many AAA beams and there isn't enough time to use Trebs to destroy all dangerous turrets from afar? I even disabled many of the AAA beams and it is still impossible to get close and disable more without dying. Also, the fighter compliment doesn't help. I think you should tone down the armaments of the Saturn. It is impossible to disarm 20 or more turrets, I believe, even on very easy. So my only option was to disable turrets from afar the whole time and I was able to destroy at least two supporting vessels by destroying one with Trebs and beta wing destroying the other. If you make a sequel and if it's a war against the Ancients, the weapons on Ancient capital ships will make it utter hell to play.

You may want to look at the updated walkthrough section I wrote for that mission. Some things in the original piece were unclear and should make more sense now. I basically go by the procedure outlined there and have gotten the full 25 turrets and two supply ships many times on medium and once on hard. The Akheton should be your main weapon in that mission. You don't need to use Trebuchets much. I fire them at the laser turret facing you at the beginning and hardly use them at all for the rest of the mission.

That being said, I'll probably tone down the fighter AI in that mission towards the end, as they currently become a bit too aggressive when you close in on the 25 mark. They are the main threat in that mission. The Saturn's weaponry doesn't really matter, as it almost never fires at you at all if you do things right.

Quote
As for the disarm-the-Saturn mission, that is insanely difficult and I've never beat it. However, you don't need to beat it to continue the campaign.

Well, you need to "beat" it in the sense of getting the primary objective of 15 turrets, which is fairly easy. The secondary and bonus objectives are optional (like in any other mission) and give additional score/bonus points. They're there for those who want to try for a perfect playthrough (like the ones in Bearbaiting) and are supposed to be hard. ;)

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Well, I must have remembered wrong. On those types of missions I will usually just ~K and SSL my way out.

Probably one of my big problems with PI is my standard strategy; load myself with Trebuchet and use my wingmen as the heavy hitters, armed with Helios and Maxim for taking out capital ships. PI isn't like Aeos Affair, though; your wingmen die quickly and personal skill becomes very important. And I can't hit the broadside of an Orion with a Subach.

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
2000m? According to the Wiki, Akheton has a range of 750. You're probably talking about the Maxim. CP, fix your walkthrough.

Quote
In general, you want to position yourself between 1500m and 2000m (closer to 2000m) of any turrets you're attacking. You can just sit there and pound them with the Akheton without taking any return fire.

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
It's correct. The range has been increased in PI (alongside several other small changes) and the stats displayed in the weapon selection screen reflect it. By the time that mission comes along, I expected the player to have used the Akheton a few times already, notably in mission 8, and to be familiar with the added range.

Aiming with it is pretty easy as long as you sit still. I can hit the turrets without much trouble with a keyboard-only configuration, so mouse or joystick users might find it even easier.

  

Offline Cobra

  • 212
  • Snake on a Cain
    • Minecraft
    • Skype
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
I honestly didn't notice that. :nervous:
To consider the Earth as the only populated world in infinite space is as absurd as to assert that in an entire field of millet, only one grain will grow. - Metrodorus of Chios
I wept. Mysterious forces beyond my ken had reached into my beautiful mission and energized its pilots with inhuman bomb-firing abilities. I could only imagine the GTVA warriors giving a mighty KIAAIIIIIII shout as they worked their triggers, their biceps bulging with sinew after years of Ivan Drago-esque steroid therapy and weight training. - General Battuta

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Hey Quick question
in the mod.ini file found in the PI download it says

[multimod]
primarylist=pifinal;
secondarylist=mediavps;

im wondering, as many of the models cant be found in FRED such as the ancients ones, where the pifinal is? i cant find many of the new models in the vps released with PI yet there they are in the game.
Or am i completely blind and missing something? wouldnt be the first time  :rolleyes:

EDIT: Scratch that, figured out what the main was..... but still cant find the models....
Anyways got another problem: I have primary weapons in FRED but when i play it i only have secondary banks full of Hornets, any clue how to get em up?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 11:55:07 pm by Arkangel »
SCP is the greatest cause of Inferiority Complexes in those that can't run it

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
The pifinal thing is actually a glitch, although it doesn't affect the campaign. I had my directory named that when I finally packaged everything up to keep it separate from the files under development.

The models and pretty much everything else is in PImain.vp. FRED2 doesn't use the same mod selection as the game, so you need to load it with the command line switch -mod pi.

As for the default weapons issue, hitting the reset button in the ship selection screen usually fixes it.

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
I browsed the last 10 pages for this particular problem, but couldnt find a solution:
As soon as I start the first mission of the campaign (first loading just finished) the game crashes with following error:
Code: [Select]
Error: Invalid intel name.

In sexpression: ( when
   ( true )
   ( tech-add-weapons
      "Subach HL-7"
      "Mekhu HL-7"
      "Akheton SDG"
      "Morning Star"
      "Prometheus R"
      "Prometheus S"
      "Maxim"
      "Circe"
      "Lamprey"
   )
   ( tech-add-weapons
      "Rockeye"
      "Tempest"
      "Hornet"
      "Tornado"
      "Harpoon"
      "Trebuchet"
      "TAG-B"
      "Piranha"
      "Stiletto II"
      "Infyrno"
      "EMP Adv."
      "Cyclops"
      "Helios"
   )
   ( tech-add-intel
      "The Great War"
      "Reconstruction"
      "GTVA"
      "Earth"
      "Neo-Terran Front"
      "Vasudans"
      "Hammer of Light"
      "Shivans"
      "The Ancients"
      "Subspace"
      "Post-Capella"
      "Procyon Confederal Autonomy"
      "Admiral Hiruk Dasmar"
   )
)
(Error appears to be: The Great War)
File:J:\src\cvs\fs2_open_3_6_9.final\code\Mission\MissionParse.cpp
Line: 5798
[This filename points to the location of a file on the computer that built this executable]

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
I think because of the size of this error that I might have done someting wrong with installing this campain, but most other campaigns I tried are running just fine... dont know whats wrong, can you help me or at least give me a hint were I should look? :)

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
It appears that you have a custom Species.tbl floating around somewhere, and it overwrote the default FS2 database entries (The Great War, Reconstruction, etc). Try clearing your data/tables folder of any Species.tbl.

Not likely to work, but it's the only solution I can think of, either that or somehow your copy of PI is inexplicably buggy.

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Or, another option: where have you installed the campaign? Hopefully you have it in its own folder in the root Freespace directory and you are using that folder as your mod, selected from the launcher.
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
@Mustang19
Didnt have any species.tbl in any of my fs2 (sub-)folders. Got only 3 .tbl files in my BWODemoCore/tables folder... (ships.tbl;stars.tbl;weapons.tbl)
Maybe thats the Problem oO
@Lobo
Quote
Or, another option: where have you installed the campaign? Hopefully you have it in its own folder in the root Freespace directory and you are using that folder as your mod, selected from the launcher.
It has its own folder, I compared the files in the root FS2 directory to the screens in some guide here how it should look like, and its pretty much the same (except many html-files, but they shouldnt make any difference i hope :> )

[edit]
Ok, I think what might be the reason why its not working... found an inferno-r1 installer in my FS2 directory.. because this copy of the game is many many years old and I just took it with me from one HDD to the next, I may have screwed with some important files years ago (just cleaned up to a proper directory structure recently)
I think the only reasonable way is a complete reinstall.. or sticking to the campaigns that work :/
« Last Edit: October 01, 2007, 10:46:57 am by Uchuujinsan »

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
What build are you using? The RC7.9X build on the website works fine, but some other builds from around that period had a bug with the tech-add-intel operator that might cause the error you're getting. If it still persists, try just clicking your way through it. Unless there are also other problems, chances are that it will work fine despite the error.

 
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Ok, clicking through all the errors (approx 15 in total) did work.
I just redownloaded the FSOpen build and the mod from the link in your sig, no chance in the behaviour. Aside from the massive amount of error messages and some invisible asteroids no more problems. Thanks for the help, though I think i should really do sth about my FS2 installation :>

[edit]
Mission 1 done, second mission starts without any errors... seems like the worst is over :)
« Last Edit: October 01, 2007, 01:10:01 pm by Uchuujinsan »

 

Offline Terashell

  • 25
  • 314th Thunderheads
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
Had a weird thing happen to me, in the mission where you have to disable a certain something...

Seems, if they get stuck together (shown in attached) you can't beat the mission, it just gets stuck at 1% forever.

Also, I disabled the engines JUST as it was jumping, that may have glitched it too...

[attachment deleted by ninja]

 

Offline CP5670

  • Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
  • 212
  • 142857
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
:wtf: Very strange bug. The mission should have finished a long time ago by the time the Hecate gets that close to the node. I guess it was some sort of fluke, as nobody else has brought it up. Did the Hecate fire its beams at all?

 

Offline Terashell

  • 25
  • 314th Thunderheads
Re: RELEASE - The Procyon Insurgency
:wtf: Very strange bug. The mission should have finished a long time ago by the time the Hecate gets that close to the node. I guess it was some sort of fluke, as nobody else has brought it up. Did the Hecate fire its beams at all?

The Hecate never arrived O.o I just had the Delphi and the Parapet on my escort, along with the red one.  Beams were being fired, and I took out all the beams and weapon turrets on the hostile... I even switched my secondaries to the uberbombs and it didn't put a dent in that 1%...

I guess I'm going to have to go through and take out the engines first so it can't jump... when I got this screenshot I had disabled the engines JUST as the Ak was opening a jump point...  I've destroyed ships while they were doing that, but never managed to disable one...  I'm thinking that's what caused the glitch, but I'm going to replay the mission now... if it's a consistent bug, it's going to sour the gameplay.