Author Topic: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work  (Read 4253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GiSWiG

  • 22
Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
Hi,

I'm new to all this, but not FreeSpace (played back in the day.)

So I tried running the original FS2, but there were issues running with XP.

So, after researching and finding it, I used the FreeSpace Open Installer last night (2/3/08) with everything selected, installed to it's own folder (from what I understand, it doesn't need the original FS2?)

The cutscenes are not working. Instead of playing the intro on load, it goes straight to the pilot selection. They were working on the Original CD Install. I downloaded and put in my data folder, the cutscenes in AVI according to KARAJORMA'S FREESPACE FAQ, but the do not play in the game as well (individually they do).

Am I missing something?

 

Offline GiSWiG

  • 22
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
P.S. I did search this site, google, the freespace open installer page, and more.

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
The AVI files don't work anymore IIRC. If you have the original cd's just drag the MVE files across from the cd to a folder called movies within the data folder of your FreeSpace 2 folder. (C:\Games\FreeSpace2\Data\Movies for example) and you should be good to go! Of course leaving the cd with the movies on (CD2) in your cd drawer should work also.

Meanwhile

:welcome:
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
    • Twitter
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
So I tried running the original FS2, but there were issues running with XP.
What kind of issues? I've succeeded without any problems. Though it is, of course, preferrable to run FSO.

Quote from: GiSWiG
So, after researching and finding it, I used the FreeSpace Open Installer last night (2/3/08) with everything selected, installed to it's own folder (from what I understand, it doesn't need the original FS2?)
... It does, actually. So now you've downloaded FS2 as well, which means that you've both wasted your own bandwith and strained the server where FS2 was downloaded. You could have run Turey's Installer and install on top of your FS2, in which case the Installer would have noticed your existing FS2 installation and not download FS2 again.

Quote from: GiSWiG
The cutscenes are not working. Instead of playing the intro on load, it goes straight to the pilot selection. They were working on the Original CD Install. I downloaded and put in my data folder, the cutscenes in AVI according to KARAJORMA'S FREESPACE FAQ, but the do not play in the game as well (individually they do).
AVI support has vanished. You can extract the .mve cutscenes from the FS2 discs and use those the way you've used the .avis. Or, you can get the .ogg cutscenes (virtually the same quality, a helluvalot less needed disk space). The Installer should have downloaded them.

Quote from: GiSWiG
P.S. I did search this site, google, the freespace open installer page, and more.
Hey, that's great. Just stay away from the SCP website (scp.indiegames.us) and The Babylon Project website (babylon.hard-light.net) since those haven't been updated in a good while. You'll find everything you need from these forums. And,

Getting started with FreeSpace 2

FreeSpace 2 manual

Karajorma's FreeSpace FAQ

The Moonwalk Superstar

Edit: Oh, and I've got two words for you: OpenGL.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 02:55:50 pm by Lobo »
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 

Offline Turey

  • Installer dude
  • 211
  • The diminutive form of Turambar.
    • FreeSpace Open Installer Homepage
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
Edit: Oh, and I've got two words for you: OpenGL.

Right. IF you're using D3D in the launcher, it won't play the cutscenes, as well as a whole bunch of other crap.
Creator of the FreeSpace Open Installer.
"Calm. The ****. Down." -Taristin
why would an SCP error be considered as news? :wtf: *smacks Cobra*It's a feature.

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
I thought you could pick D3D in the latest launcher and the engine would still use OpenGL?  :confused: :nervous:
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline karajorma

  • King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
  • 214
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
In 3.6.10 builds, yes. But .avi cutscenes won't work in 3.6.10 builds 3.6.9 was the last build that supported them. 
Karajorma's Freespace FAQ. It's almost like asking me yourself.

[ Diaspora ] - [ Seeds Of Rebellion ] - [ Mind Games ]

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
In 3.6.10 builds, yes. But .avi cutscenes won't work in 3.6.10 builds  3.6.9 was the last build that supported them. 

That's what I said diddle I?  :P

The AVI files don't work anymore IIRC.
   :D  :cool:

So the thing is to use a 3.6.10 build, .ogg movies or .mve movies
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline GiSWiG

  • 22
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
Thanks Guys for the info and introduction. I chose to let the installer get everything, because even though I was able to install my copy, there is damage to one CD, and even though it installed, I didn't trust it.

Though now that I think about it, the installer did check every file to see if it was the right version (or not there), so I guess that would have been fine. Ah well. I've burned it all to DVD before trying it, so that won't be needed again.

So, gave it a quick test with OpenGL and the movies work! Thanks for the tip there.

While I'm writing this, what about widescreen support? (I did a quick search, but didn't find anything yet)
I have a WS 1440x900 and no way to force it into 4:3 ration for 1024x768. Is there a run-in-window option?

Thanks

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
I believe the Run-in-window option is in the troubleshooting part of the launcher, there is no wide-screen support at the moment, (and I don't think there will be as to code the interface would be a nightmare and likely break retail compatability).

Glad to hear things are working correctly, if you have used Turey's installer, then you will probably be using a 3.6.9 build release as the 3.6.10 is not yet final. So yes, use OpenGL at all times.
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
    • Twitter
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
While I'm writing this, what about widescreen support? (I did a quick search, but didn't find anything yet)
I have a WS 1440x900 and no way to force it into 4:3 ration for 1024x768. Is there a run-in-window option?
A not so quick search would have provided some threads about the subject. But in short: it is possible to play in a widescreen resolution, but it will result in HUD misalignments, weird user interface distortions and some really funky sun, star and background nebula movements in missions. The preferred option is to use a forced 4:3 resolution, like 1024x768 to avoid those graphical glitches.

Just curious. What graphics card do you have? And what set of drivers? It should be an option somewhere in the settings to either prevent any scaling or use scaling that maintains the desired aspect ratio.
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 

Offline GiSWiG

  • 22
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
XFX geforce 7950GT 512MB PCI-E on a Viewsonic VA1912wb with the latest nvidia drivers.

According to Viewsonic, and I called about this, the monitor always streches. I have tried forcing 1024x768 through the driver, but it results in black top and bottom bars and stretched to the sides. I have not tried with the latest so maybe I'll give that a try tonight.

Rest of system specs are...
ASUS A8N32-SLI deluxe (not using SLI)
Athlon X2 OC'd at 2.6GHz
4GB ram OC'd @ 480 (4x1gb)

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
With that much ram you must be using Vista as your OS no?

I don't think XP can see that much ram can it?  :confused:  :nervous:
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline Jeff Vader

  • The Back of the Hero!
  • Moderator
  • 212
  • Bwahaha
    • Twitter
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
According to Viewsonic, and I called about this, the monitor always streches. I have tried forcing 1024x768 through the driver, but it results in black top and bottom bars and stretched to the sides. I have not tried with the latest so maybe I'll give that a try tonight.
Dang. Well, I suppose that if you set the resolution as 1024x768 from the driver settings and the Launcher, and after that the screen stretches the image, it's not that bad. It'll be stretched but nothing more. But if you actually set a widescreen resolution with the Launcher, you'll get those graphical glitches I mentioned.

But seriously. To me it seems somewhat bad to make a widescreen computer monitor that persistently stretches everything to cover the entire panel.
23:40 < achillion > EveningTea: ass
23:40 < achillion > wait no
23:40 < achillion > evilbagel: ass
23:40 < EveningTea > ?
23:40 < achillion > 2-letter tab complete failure

14:08 < achillion > there's too much talk of butts and dongs in here
14:08 < achillion > the level of discourse has really plummeted
14:08 < achillion > Let's talk about politics instead
14:08 <@The_E > butts and dongs are part of #hard-light's brand now
14:08 <@The_E > well
14:08 <@The_E > EvilBagel's brand, at least

01:06 < T-Rog > welp
01:07 < T-Rog > I've got to take some very strong antibiotics
01:07 < achillion > penis infection?
01:08 < T-Rog > Chlamydia
01:08 < achillion > O.o
01:09 < achillion > well
01:09 < achillion > I guess that happens
01:09 < T-Rog > at least it's curable
01:09 < achillion > yeah
01:10 < T-Rog > I take it you weren't actually expecting it to be a penis infection
01:10 < achillion > I was not

14:04 < achillion > Sometimes the way to simplify is to just have a habit and not think about it too much
14:05 < achillion > until stuff explodes
14:05 < achillion > then you start thinking about it

22:16 < T-Rog > I don't know how my gf would feel about Jewish conspiracy porn

15:41 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
15:47 < EvilBagel> butt
15:51 < Achillion> yes
15:53 <-INFO > EveningTea [[email protected]] has quit [Quit: http://www.mibbit.com ajax IRC Client]

18:53 < Achillion> Dicks are fun

21:41 < MatthTheGeek> you can't spell assassin without two asses

20:05 < sigtau> i'm mining titcoins from now on

00:31 < oldlaptop> Drunken antisocial educated freezing hicks with good Internet == Finland stereotype

11:46 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has joined #hard-light
11:50 < achtung> Surely you've heard of DVDA
11:50 < achtung> Double Vaginal Double ANal
11:51 < Kobrar> ...
11:51 <-INFO > Kobrar [[email protected]] has left #hard-light []

 

Offline GiSWiG

  • 22
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
Well, monitor was a gift, can't complain. But when buying a monitor, especially if you like games w/o WS support, make sure it has the ability to physically switch to 4:3 ratio, not just support 4:3 resolutions. Not all do. I learned that the hard way.

As for the OS; yes I tried Vista 64bit.  It sucks! (technically speaking :-) If you like the looks, try Vista Transformation Pack 8.

I was dual-booting with OpenSUSE 64bit, XP MCE and XP 64bit, with suse as primary. But getting what I want to run in suse and not dual boot is a pain and my time is short on my PC these days. So I use XP MCE as primary and might actually rip out 2 gigs to goto 1T command rate, and put them in my MCE that is my DVR. The XP-64bit is for gaming when it counts, like Unreal and Half-Life.

I do find it interesting that opensuse 32bit did see all my 4GB but XP does not. Maybe SP3 will change that? I hope.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2008, 11:14:47 am by GiSWiG »

 

Offline karajorma

  • King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
  • 214
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
That's what I said diddle I?  :P

Not quite. You said that the deciding factor was the launcher. And it isn't. If you use the latest launcher and 3.6.9 you can view the avi movies and D3D will work. If you use an older launcher and 3.6.10 neither will work.
Karajorma's Freespace FAQ. It's almost like asking me yourself.

[ Diaspora ] - [ Seeds Of Rebellion ] - [ Mind Games ]

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
Not quite. You said that the deciding factor was the launcher. And it isn't. If you use the latest launcher and 3.6.9 you can view the avi movies and D3D will work. If you use an older launcher and 3.6.10 neither will work.

I stand corrected O! Great one!  ;)
 :lol:
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline Wanderer

  • Wiki Warrior
  • 211
  • Mostly harmless
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
As said in many places before... you can also use window mode... full screen is not mandatory
Do not meddle in the affairs of coders for they are soggy and hard to light

 

Offline Wobble73

  • 210
  • Reality is for people with no imagination
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
As said in many places before... you can also use window mode... full screen is not mandatory

Granted, but full screen is more immersive!
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard disk?
Early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
 
Member of the Scooby Doo Fanclub. And we're not talking a cartoon dog here people!!

 You would be well adviced to question the wisdom of older forumites, we all have our preferences and perversions

 

Offline ARSPR

  • Preys On Mantis
  • 29
Re: Just installed using FreeSpaceOpenInstaller - Cutscenes don't work
XFX geforce 7950GT 512MB PCI-E on a Viewsonic VA1912wb with the latest nvidia drivers.

According to Viewsonic, and I called about this, the monitor always streches. I have tried forcing 1024x768 through the driver, but it results in black top and bottom bars and stretched to the sides. I have not tried with the latest so maybe I'll give that a try tonight.

I was dual-booting with OpenSUSE 64bit, XP MCE and XP 64bit, with suse as primary. But getting what I want to run in suse and not dual boot is a pain and my time is short on my PC these days. So I use XP MCE as primary and might actually rip out 2 gigs to goto 1T command rate, and put them in my MCE that is my DVR. The XP-64bit is for gaming when it counts, like Unreal and Half-Life.

You say that you cannot disable monitor stretching, but have you tried through nvidia Control Panel?

I've got Vista 32 bit, (instead of XP), and a 8800 GTX, but I have a good "No Scaling" option (4th one) in my nvidia Control Panel. This "No Scaling" option disables even the default flat panel scaling (which actually comes as another option: the 3rd one).
Screenshot attached. Although it's in Spanish, I suppose you can easily figure out where you can find the options in the English version...

And also you can use RivaTuner util to enable a custom 1200 x 900 resolution which is 4:3 ratio and fully uses your monitor height  ;7 ;7. I have a 1680x1050 monitor and, since some time ago, I play with a 1400x1050 resolution which looks just WONDERFUL. Unless troubleshooting, I never use -window option any more. (Remember that depending on exact drivers, OS and FSOpen build, switching between full-screened FSOpen and Windows desktop can be fatal, you can get crashes or even BSODs quite easily).

(I wrote some hints about FS2Open and WS flat panels in this thread: http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,51247.0.html)

[attachment deleted by ninja]
IF YOU HAVE TROUBLES WITH FS2:
  • Please, please, please, READ and UNDERSTAND the sticky threads in FreeSpace & FreeSpace Open Support board.
    A lot of people are willing to help you, but, as anyone can understand, seeing the very same "issues" repeated again and again can become quite depressing. Please, spend a bit of time trying to solve the issue by yourself.
    (Lobo deserves a monument).
  • Then, if you aren't still able to solve your issue, feel free to ask for help in that same board.
    FYI, most of the troubles are caused by wrong mod installations which lead to either missing data or undesired cross-effects between them. Always follow the mod installation instructions and keep a clean FS2 installation as explained in the sticky threads. Two additional links about how the game handles game data:
  • If you think that you've discovered a bug, mantis it.
    Provide as much info as you can, and try to narrow it down. A lonely "FS2 doesn't work" is not a good report.

Whoever Hanlon was: Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity.
Albert Einstein: Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.

Dell Dimension 9200 - Vista 32-bit Ultimate
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.4GHz - RAM 2 GB DDR2
nvidia 8800 GTX - Integrated Sigmatel Audio